janie w/ bass litterbug has just released its 5th full-length album, the scent of new skins on monkey-bar-records. recorded over several months in 2013/2014 and mixed in the summer/Fall of 2014, the scent of new skins is the first album recorded with stewart lampe and spring burke and marks the return of justin harder. The 16-track album is available for $13 U.S. plus shipping. Go to the store page to order the limited edition digipak today!

the band has also released two videos on YouTube for lead tracks be my valentine xylophone and 5/6ths of the 1980s. You can watch both of these videos on litterbug's YouTube channel: LitterbugNetwork.

the band has also recorded a 5-song covers EP that will be released later in 2015.

in february 2014, the band released stapler, a 15-track album of litterbug outtakes, rarities, and lost treasures. the album, which contained litterbug's first recorded track and outtakes from each of the three full-length albums, was met with a very positive reception.

in 2012, spring burke joined the band as a violinist, playing guitar, bass, keyboards and drums as well. mouki k butt retired. former member justin harder rejoined litterbug in late 2012 as the band wrote many new songs in preparation for the zero hour followup.

at around the same time as the completion of zero hour, amelia left the band to go to medical school in australia (med school again!), and david newberry and max boyle joined the band for some shows to promote the zero hour album. spencer rose left the band in september 2009 to focus on other projects and in october 2009, mouki k butt and stewart lampe joined the band as litterbug began to work on new material for a follow-up to zero hour.

in the summer and fall of 2008, the band sequestered itself into vancouver's fairview baptist church, where it recorded over 20 songs for the zero hour sessions. paring down the album to 13 tracks, zero hour was released in late april, 2009. zero hour starts off in a dark place in mexico and winds up in a brighter place in death. in between are stories of murder, loss, imprisonment, the retreat from life, and RVs. this swirling album is litterbug's strongest and most artistic statement yet. featured guests include larissa loyva (kellarissa, former p:ano, choir practice), brady cranfield (womankind, former book of lists), and josh rose (robe & allied).

in early 2006, justin and aileen moved to saskatoon to pursue aileen's medical studies, while marc and janie relocated to vancouver. later that year, spencer rose and amelia mori joined litterbug and the band began to work on new material. this lineup first recorded in the summer of 2007, contributing the track rachel quinney to cjsr's get out of your basement compilation.

in 2002, litterbug released its debut album pablo on its own label monkey-bar-records. receiving positive reviews and campus airplay, the band expanded from its core of marc simao, janie cranfield and lonnie ouellette, to include justin harder and aileen rankin. this lineup recorded and released the full-length album kaiser and the sort-of christmas ep hollis in 2004. litterbug was formed at a time when the world trade centres still existed and cost $15 u.s. to ascend, ("we'll go next time.") litterbug entered the musical landscape playing a stripped down indie rock that channeled folks like jonathan richman, the feelies, camper van beethoven, phil ochs, and the velvet underground.